Select Page

Visiting Italy: Cinque terre

Visiting Italy: Cinque terre

The Cinque Terre are five coastal villages in the province of La Spezia. “Discovered” by foreigners in the late 20th century they have become among the most touristed areas of Italy;

  • Monterosso al Mare
  • Vernazza
  • Corniglia
  • Manarola
  • Riomaggiore

Parco Nazionale delle Cinque Terre

Riomaggiore is situated in a small valley just along the coast. It is the first Village of Cinque Terre when you come from La Spezia. The houses of the medieval village lean one to the other, intersected by deep small streets and sheltered paths. Riomaggiore origins date back to the end of the XII century. “Rivus Major” is the ancient name of the biggets river which crossed the village. Typical coloured buildings in the village

Walking (20min) using “Via dell’Amore”

The way, offers a romantic atmospheres and panoramas of rare beauty. It cost 3€. It is the most famous path of Cinque Terre from Riomaggiore to Manarola.

About The Author

Cédric Walter

I worked with various Insurances companies across Switzerland on online applications handling billion premium volumes. I love to continuously spark my creativity in many different and challenging open-source projects fueled by my great passion for innovation and blockchain technology.In my technical role as a senior software engineer and Blockchain consultant, I help to define and implement innovative solutions in the scope of both blockchain and traditional products, solutions, and services. I can support the full spectrum of software development activities, starting from analyzing ideas and business cases and up to the production deployment of the solutions.I'm the Founder and CEO of Disruptr GmbH.